Skip to content

Seif Feels Guilty?

August 17, 2010

My friend sent me this song because I was feeling homesick. I feel so guilty when I hear this song. I do not know why. Esepecially when it says ” Ma t2oul badeh trou7, titrok watan majrou7. Wil rou7 lama trou7 el jasad bado ymout” *. I don’t know why.  Maybe because it’s actually true.  We all want to ditch Lebanon, so who do we leave it to? It’s crazy, I know… I know.  Do songs make you feel guilty at times? Especially if they are patriotic ones?

* Translation of the Italics: Don’t say you want to leave, and leave our country hurt. When the soul leaves, the body dies

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 4:59 am

    من حمل لبنان في قلبه، هرب من واقعه.. لم يؤمن بأرضه كما يجب .. اختار الهرب بدل القتال ..
    ربما فكر بنفسه، بمستقبل مزهر، بأرض-إن أغمض عيونه- يرى فيها أحفاده، يرى فيها شجرة له، زرعها بنفسه شتلة غضة، سهر الى جانبها ليال و بكي على جذعها، أخبرها بأعمق أسراره وأعظم آماله.. ربما هو خائف من أن تقطع الشجرة..ربما هو خائف من خيبة جديدة.

    لكن كفى أنانية.. ليبنى الوطن لا بد من تضحيات.. و ذلك يبدأ بالإيمان..
    الإيمان بالأرض، بأن الأرض تبادله العاطفة وأكثر..
    وإن كان من على الأرض سرقوا مواسم خيراتها.. وغرسوا في قلبها الحقد فأنبتت العوسج..

    فقلب الأرض لا يحمل الضغينة.. و هو، ابن الأرض، لن يخاف بعد اليوم..

  2. mariam permalink
    August 24, 2010 4:06 pm

    I feel the same exact way about this song. And even more so when he says “hayde wasiyi mkarasi” … and “min hawn mamin fil *hosron bi 3ayn el-kil”

    *not sure of the exact word

    I feel like we do run from our Lebanon’s reality and we can’t rebuild it while in other countries. In June 2011, I will be back and hope to stay. Lebanon deserves that we give it our skills, brains and time.

    Libnan rah yerja3 ❤

  3. BeirutiAdventures permalink
    August 24, 2010 7:15 pm

    An absolutely beautiful comment! With us so far away, we are ultimately giving up on Libnan!
    Libnan rijee3, not to the best of it’s potential…but somewhat there!
    God Bless

Leave a comment